Activists of PTI and PPP are celebrating victory within the elections. Picture: file  

MIRPUR: Amid a skinny turnout within the by-elections, PTI and PPP have managed to retain their seats in Mirpur and Kotli, in response to unofficial and unconfirmed outcomes.

A day earlier, the by-elections have been held for 2 constituencies of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Meeting for the Mirpur LA-Three and LA-12 Kotli-V constituencies.

The PTI clinched LA-3, Mirpur-III seat, whereas the PPP candidate grabbed LA-12 Kotli-V seat. Stringent safety measures have been taken to make sure the polling course of was not disturbed, with military troops deployed at polling stations. Voting commenced at 8:00am and continued until 5:00pm.

The LA-3, Mirpur-III seat had fallen vacant on account of Barrister Sultan Mehmood Choudhry’s election as AJK president, who received this seat as a PTI nominee within the July 25 common elections.

In accordance with unconfirmed and unofficial outcomes, PTI candidate Yasir Sultan Chaudhry received the election securing 20,142 votes whereas PMLN candidate Chaudhry Saeed bought 11,608 votes.

PPP’s Aamir Yaseen clinches Kotli-V seat

A complete of 106,428 voters, together with 57,838 males and 48,590 females have been registered to train their proper to elect their consultant for the AJK LA.

Unofficial outcomes from 197 out of 198 polling stations acknowledged that the PPP’s Aamir Yaseen defeated the PTI’s Shaukat Farid Advocate by securing 24,335 votes whereas the PTI candidate might handle 18,858 votes.

The LA-12 (Charhoi), Kotli-V seat had fallen vacant on account of Chaudhry Muhammad Yasin’s resignation from the one out of two seats that he had received within the July 25 common elections — concurrently from Kotli metropolis and Charhoi constituencies.

Bilawal Bhutto congratulates social gathering staff

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari congratulated his social gathering staff and supporters for “one other victory from Azad Kashmir”.

“Congratulations to all PPP staff on one other victory from Azad Kashmir. We beat PTI in one more by-election. From Karachi to Kashmir Jiya Bhutto Benazir,” he tweeted.

‘PML-N candidate snatched poll papers’

However, PML-N’s Mohammad Riyasat Khan managed solely 17,892 votes and completed third within the LA-12 Kotli-V ballot.

Kotli DRO Mian Arif mentioned the polling course of at Authorities Ladies Faculty Changpur was halted after poll papers have been snatched from the election workers.

“A report has been ready by the presiding officer and despatched to the reporting officer,” mentioned the DRO. “The report says that the PML-N candidate snatched the poll papers from the election workers.”

He mentioned authorized motion will likely be taken towards the PML-N candidate in gentle of the report’s findings.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *