WASHINGTON: The US introduced Friday it’s limiting journey from eight southern African nations over fears of a brand new variant of Covid-19 detected in South Africa.

Journey might be principally banned beginning Monday from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi, a senior official in President Joe Biden’s administration stated.

Solely US residents and everlasting residents will nonetheless be capable to journey from the eight nations, the official, who spoke on situation of anonymity, added.

“The coverage was applied out of an abundance of warning in gentle of a brand new Covid-19 variant circulating in Southern Africa,” the official stated.

“Our scientists and public well being officers are working rapidly to be taught extra about this variant,” the official added.

“President Biden has promised to take each measure essential to maintain People secure and defeat the pandemic, and this was a step beneficial by US authorities medical consultants and the Covid-19 Response Crew.”

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *